Skip to content

…how cute is this owl? Making this card was heaps of fun, I love the little owl. My eldest granddaughter, Athanna, really loves owls and this stamp reminds me of her every time I use it. Athanna is off to school today, her first day. I cannot believe how fast this day has come around. It only seems like yesterday that she was born.

January 27, 2009

january2009-003

I used red and brown card stock from my own stash, the vanilla card stock is from Stampin’ Up -Very Vanilla. The tree and owl stamps are from Hero Arts. Happy Birthday is from a stamp set I have had for a long time and have no idea the name of it…sorry. The brown ribbon is a Stampin’ Up ribbon called Chocolate Chip. All the stamps are inked with Purely Pomegranite from Stampin’ Up.

The card is an ‘A’  frame, so it stands upright. I trimmed 1cm from the bottom of the front of the card and added 1cm strip of the brown and adhered it from the underside to accentuate the brown I have used in the matting under the stamps.

I stamped the owl onto the Very Vanilla card stock at the base of the tree, I stamped it again on a little piece of Very Vanilla and cut around it and used dimensional dots to lift him off the page. When I cut around him, I cut his little legs off because it looked like he had four legs when I set him on top of the first image, just didn’t look right!! I also stamped the tree stamp on a piece of Very Vanilla and cut out 2 of the little flowers to place them between the ribbon and the brown on the red section. I stamped the Happy Birthday stamp also on Very Vanilla and held it in place at the knot of the ribbon with dimensional dots. To finish off this card I ran the Purely Pomegranite ink stamp around the edges. I like to co-ordinate an envelope when I can, so I have also stamped the tree and the owl onto the front of one that is cream coloured.

Hope your day is a beautiful one,

thanks for dropping by, Sally X

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

