Skip to content

time… to make a special card!

August 24, 2009

23 august 003

hi everyone, it is such a beautiful morning here in my little corner of the world. I love the birdsong  just before the light of day, especially the beautiful warble of the magpies. Their voices  float on the crisp morning breeze, their song heralds a brand new day. Then as the night sky quietly slips away and  first light appears, the other birds begin their own songs, and so the chorus continues, the tempo, only occassionally, is disrupted by the melodious laugh of the kookaburras. Ahhh yes it is a beautiful morning…

I really like these 2 colours together, black and baja breeze, for a great mens’ card. This card has been made for someone to give to their partner to celebrate their first anniversary. I have used the stamp set, Sense of Time (from the new mini) because the theme of the occasion was ‘time’. Silver hodgepodge has created a window effect on the face of the clock. I distressed the larger baja breeze matting with the Sanded background stamp. Then I stamped and re-stamped (without re-inking) the wheel mechanism stamp all over the cardstock, this gives various shades of the one colour for added dimension and interest.The face of the clock has been embossed in black embossing powder but is hard to see in my photo. I used my cuttlebug to give some extra texture on the black matting, and I used a small square piece of patterned, basic gray paper from the Walk in the Park designer series paper (from the new mini) and another strip of it is used for matting under the ribbon. These little pieces have been stamped with the fleur-de-lis stamp from the set of Friends of 24-7.  The baja breeze ribbon is from Ribbon Originals and the black is 6.35mm Grosgrain Ribbon. The last little embellishment is the little heart sitting on the ribbons. The heart shape is from Sweet Sticky Cuts and I have used black Fun Flock (non stampin’ up) for a little fuzzy fun…it’s one of those things when you see it you just have to touch it!!    …thanks for dropping by, Sally x  23 august 001

One Comment leave one →
  1. kirstyscardnscrap permalink
    August 31, 2009 1:25 pm

    Hey Sally! Am I a slack blogging buddy or what? Don’t answer that question…..LOL! I love this card. You did very well with that set. It is a set I would struggle with I am sure. Well done!
    You will never guess but some man in my life has all of a sudden become very romantic…… can you guess who?? He’s a bit of a hottie!! There’s your first clue…lol!
    Love Kirsty

Leave a Reply

