Skip to content

for my Mum on her birthday…

September 21, 2009

mums diannes card 002

I had some fun making this bright card for my mum as she celebrated her birthday. I began with Real Red card stock as my base and stamped the circle design from Circle Circus in Close to Cocoa ink, I then found some printed card stock in my non stampin’ up stash and stamped the same circles in the same ink all over it too. I used the photo corners punch to punch out the 2 corner bits from the pink spotty paper from the Hostess Level 1 gift of  Patterns Pack II 6×6 designer series paper and I sponged over them with a little bit of Real Red ink, I am a huge fan of pinks and reds together, and by sponging over the pink spotty corner bits it muted the pink so it sat well on the red. I distressed the printed paper and then sponged it around the edges in the Real Red and Close to Cocoa inks. Then I punched 2 holes with the Horizontal Slot punch and fed the 6.35mm Real Red ribbon through them and tied it in a knot. I embellished with 3 of the larger half cream pearls. And the flowers…aren’t they pretty? They are from the Inspired by Nature set of stamps. I have used my Stampin’ Write Markers to ink up the stamp, in Real Red and Pink Passion for the flower and Old Olive and Certainly Celery for the stems and leaves. Then I have covered the whole flower with Crystal Effects and sprinkled some Dazzling Diamonds glitter over the top of the flower only and on the petals I have used a tiny bit of  Pink Fine Supernova glitter. The card is finished up with a little Happy Birthday title from On Your Birthday stamp set, it has been punched out of  the same card stock that I used with the print on it with the Word Window punch, and then has been matted on 2 pieces of Real Red, also punched out with the Word Window punch, they are placed end to end and the title is centred on top. Simple but bright and cheery! And my Mum appreciated that I had made her something special for her birthday, my family and friends are always eager to see the cards I give them, and that is really sweet. It gives me a good feeling in my heart when I see how excited they get when they open the envelope. It is always wonderful to have your work, no matter what it is, so appreciated. Someone told me one day that she would feel cheated if I opted to buy her a card and didn’t make her one, such a beautiful compliment I thought. Thanks for dropping by   … keep smiling!!! (it makes people wonder what you have been up to!!) lol lol

Sally x

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

