Skip to content

You only live once,

November 7, 2009

07.11.09 arhia 042

Hi again, WOWSERS!!!!  2 posts in one afternoon!!!! I had a really busy week last week and didn’t play along in Makeesha’s last challenge. But this week…now, that, is a different story. I must admit these were hard colours for me to work with, but that is what a challenge is, and I enjoy playing along with them because they do make me think outside the square. Plus I love to check out what everyone else has done with the same challenge, that always fascinates me!

So for this week’s challenge, Inkspirations Colour Challenge #15, Keesh has given us some warm colours to play with- Chocolate Chip, Close to Cocoa, Really Rust and Very Vanilla. I decided on a Chocolate Chip card stock base with a Really Rust card stock matting. For my inks, I chose the 3 darker colours, using them with a flower stamp from the Fifth Avenue Floral stamp set, I randomly stamped over the Very Vanilla card stock and overlapped the flowers. In the centre of the Really Rust outlined flowers only, I used some of that gorgeous, gorgeous Fine Supernova glitter in ‘orange’ (it looks like Really Rust) to give the card some bling. I have also just roughly sponged some Really Rust from the Stampin’ Pastels onto the same flowers, being careful not to go outside the outlines, plus I didn’t want to colour those flowers in fully, I wanted it to look a bit sort of hit-and-miss…lol lol, does that make sense? It makes them more of a feature and they sort of jump off the front of the card. I don’t have one of those u-beaut cameras that take great photos like I see on other blogs,  just my little-one-that-I-take-everywhere type of camera, so sometimes my cards look way much more striking in real life, and this is one of them, so sorry! I think I may have to put a new camera on my wish list for next year. I punched out the title on Very Vanilla with the Wide Oval punch and mounted it twice, once on Really Rust card stock and once on Chocolate Chip card stock that have been punched out with the Designer Label punch and I cut them both in half and placed them underneath the Very Vanilla oval piece at each end. I finished the tag off with a Chocolate Chip button on the side, with a tiny bow of some Linen Thread that I dyed with some Chocolate Chip ink from the ink refill bottle.

I had so much fun doing this challenge, I was so determined to do it, because it would be soooo soooo easy for me to back out and stay in my comfort zone. Thank you Keesh for a wonderful chance to play along and broaden my colour palette. I hope you all like my card, I am pretty happy with how it turned out. Don’t forget to pop over to Makeesha’s blog and check out her gorgeous card and her Design Teams’ gorgeous creations too. One cannot help but be inspired, go have a look!

‘Never miss a rainbow because you are looking down’ –unknown

07.11.09 arhia 041

…love Sally xx 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2009 2:43 pm

    Beautiful card Sally., I love the Fine SuperNova glitter.
    Deb x

  2. November 8, 2009 8:50 pm

    The Fifth Avenue flower looks great done in those colours. The glitter adds a sparkly touch!

  3. November 8, 2009 10:21 pm

    WOW Sally, this is beautiful! I really love how you have stamped the flowers in different colours, and added the bling to the alternate flowers! Just beautiful. Thanks so much for playing. Love Keesh x

  4. A Little Less Useless permalink
    November 9, 2009 9:58 am

    beautiful card! Love those stamps they are a favourite of mine!

  5. November 9, 2009 3:23 pm

    Lovely Sally!! The bling and the button finish it off nicely;-)

  6. Chantal Fleming permalink
    November 10, 2009 7:22 am

    Great job. You make me want to get that set even more.

  7. November 13, 2009 12:03 pm

    Beautiful, Sally – love the glittery centres!

Leave a Reply

