Skip to content

…with heartfelt sympathy…

November 17, 2009

Hi everyone, sadly one of hubby’s work colleagues lost her Dad this week and I was asked to make a card for the staff to sign, so this is it. I used the new butterfly punch and the butterfly stamps from the new summer mini, this time I used the ‘houndstooth’ print on the top of the butterfly and I glued the ‘swirly’ print underneath so when it’s wings are lifted there is some unexpected added interest…cute idea hey? The large red/pink rose from Fifth Avenue Floral has been coloured with a blend of reds and pinks from the Water Colour Wonder Crayons, I have actually coloured in 2 of them and layered them on top of each other with Stampin’ Dimensionals. Just around the edges I have used some Stampin’ Glitter in Dazzling Diamonds. The tag has been made up of 2 different stamp sets (which I love to do and it’s so easy!!), the secret is you must have a Stamp-a-ma-jig (available for $22.95 from the 2009-2010 idea book and catalogue, page155)!! It allows you to line up perfectly where you need to place the stamp, no stuff-ups, no errors, you get it right every time, isn’t that cool? I love mine and it gets a very good workout with the projects its needed in. I had always wondered how these people, who have gorgeous jaw dropping creations, made such awesome perfect alignments look so easy, I assumed that they must have wasted a lot of paper and time and I admired them for their determination to finish what they started out making!!! But at the very first Stampin’ Up party I went too their secret was out!!!! I think everyone at that party thought the same as me, and yes! … every one of us purchased that magic tool and now we too can align perfectly!!!! Ahh yes, back to the card,( ooops, those who know me well, know how I like to side-track at times.. lol lol lol) I have used the ‘heartfelt’ stamp from Heartfelt Thanks and the ‘with sympathy’ is from Kindred Spirits. I had to make this a large card for the many signatures so I used a 12×12 textured sheet of Baja Breeze, folded it in half and cut one side down by 7 cms. I used Urban Oasis designer series paper and chose the theme of Fifth Avenue Floral, the red spotty piece is from Riding Hood Red patterns designer series paper. The ribbon is the luscious satin Kiwi Kiss/Very Vanilla. I was pretty happy with the final result of this card and I was pleased to hear that hubby’s work mates also liked it and were very appreciative, its nice to know your work touches the hearts of others no matter what the circumstance.

 Thanks for dropping by this arve.

Sally x

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

