Skip to content

shopping makes everything better…

December 2, 2009

WOW !! Keesh has given us some lovely bright summery colours to play with this week for the Inkspirations Colour Challenge #16. They are Taken with Teal, Real Red, Pumpkin Pie and Whisper White, cheery hey? I don’t know why but when I saw these colours together I thought… mmmm tote bag!!(as you do!!!! lol lol!!) And so that is what I have made this week! I cut the bag shape from a  template that I have had for a little while, in Whisper White card stock and stamped it all over with the smaller flower from Scribble This (page 84 in the big 2009-2010 catty). I also stamped the cute little butterfly and tiny flower from the For Everything stamp set. There is a little pocket on the bottom right hand corner to hold the sentiment, which in this case says ‘let’s celebrate’! I folded some real red ribbon for the pull and glued it between the white tag and the red matting. The ‘shopping makes everything better’ is from Fashion District Rub-Ons from the Spring Mini catty. The small white grommet (the clip on the bag) is from the Designer Hardware in the new Summer Mini catty (on page 17) and it is holding in place the little piece of Real Red card stock that has been punched with the Word Window punch and folded in half. For the straps I have cut a 30cm length of  Real Red 1.25 cm striped grosgrain ribbon, and knotted it at both ends just like you see on most totes. I roughed up all the edges of the bag with the Cutter Kit to give it that material, well loved look!! To take some of the starkness off the white base of the card I sponged some Real Red and Pumpkin Pie very lightly over it, and that also accented the larger flowers. I am pretty happy with my creation and even my darling hubby thought it was worthy some ‘comment love’!!!! I tell ya, he’s too cute that man of mine!

Don’t forget pop over to Keesh’s site and check out her beautiful creation and have a look-see what everyone else has come up with too. Just click here and it will take you straight to Keesh’s site.

Thanks Keesh for another great challenge, I have loved playing with these colours.

Thanks for dropping by this arve,

Sally x

P.S. !! WOW !! thanks everyone for all the lovely comments on my tote-bag card. I had so much fun making it and I am glad you all liked it too. I am over the moon Cindy chose my card for an honourable mention, it was something I certainly didn’t expect, I am very very excited. I sure don’t envy the job of selecting winners, everyones’ entries are all winners to me. I am always inspired by the huge talent out there week after week, it’s amazing, you’re all amazing!! Big congratulations to Julie Leblanc for her stunning peacock, I love her card. Thank you again Cindy, you made my day!

Love Sally X

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2009 1:50 pm

    How cute Sally – very bright and summer like. Great job.

  2. December 2, 2009 3:12 pm

    WOW amazing, I love it.
    Rach:)

  3. December 2, 2009 5:01 pm

    How absolutely gorgeous.

  4. December 2, 2009 9:51 pm

    This is just so… totally cool! I haven’t done a tote bag yet and after looking at yours, I ask myself the question, “Why haven’t I done this?” It is just fantastic!!!

  5. December 3, 2009 12:50 am

    Oh my gosh, that tote!!! Such an incredibly cute idea!!! I don’t think I’ve ever seen one like this before. It looks awesome!! (And perfect for the color combo, too.)

    TFS!
    Cindy 🙂

  6. December 3, 2009 8:54 am

    It’s so cute!!!! It looks grea with the colour combo, what a fantastic idea!

  7. December 4, 2009 7:45 pm

    Great project!! Congrats on getting an honourable mention as well!!

Leave a Reply

