Skip to content

beautiful bright red crochet flowers…

June 8, 2010

 

Hi all, I am really excited tonight!! Wanna know why???? Well this is one of my favourite cards ever…and did you notice it’s not pink!!!LOL!!! I had soooo much fun making this card for Keesh’s Inkspiration Colour Challenge, and, for a quick minute, even thought I was very organised to have it posted before it closes this week, but I had to have a laugh at myself, this challenge doesn’t close until the 17th, LOL!! So I am super duper organised for once!!

The challenge this time is a colour challenge and the colours are Basic Grey, Real Red, Whisper White and Kraft. I used the Kraft as the base card and the Basic Grey is underneath the Real Red card stock. The night before I wanted to make this card, I got out my little bottle Real Red ink refill, and made a puddle with it and a tiny bit of water to die the cute crochet flowers, I used a lot of ink with only a little bit of water because I wanted the flowers to be a vibrant red and not a watery red. I lay them flat on my Glass Mat so they would dry overnight to be ready to be put to work in the morning. The red CS has been stamped with the BG  Weathered stamp in Basic Grey ink. Whisper White CS was run through the Big Shot using the Top Note die and stamped with the image from Kindred Spirits in Real Red ink. The next layer is a piece of white vellum card stock that has also been through the Big Shot using the Top Note die. Then I used the Stamp-a-ma-jig to make sure the ‘You’ stamp from Life Definitions went on straight. I inked the phrase and the little bee from Bloomin’ with Beauty stamp set in Basic Grey on top of the vellum and allowed it to dry so it didn’t smudge, I had to exercise patience here!! (not easy for me sometimes!!lol) I assembled all the layers together with brads hidden underneath the red flowers, sneaky hey?? Finally I put the 3 crochet flowers, that I had coloured the night before, over the brads using Pop-Up Glue Dots (because I thought the flowers might be a bit heavy on the vellum)  and there you go…my submission for Keesh’s Inkspiration Colour Challenge! Everything I have used is Stampin’ Up product. Why not join in and play along, just click here, to get to Keesh’s site and be inspired by her beautiful work.

Thanks for the opportunity Keesh to play along in another one of your super challenges, your work always inspires me, and your challenges make me think outside my ‘pink’ bubble!!

Sally x

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2010 1:04 am

    Saw you won over on Kellie Winnell’s blog… congrats.

  2. June 9, 2010 7:04 am

    Sally,
    This is just adorable. I love your died crotcheted flowers. They are divine. I love the kindred spirit stamp in the background behind the velum. Just gorgeous.

  3. June 9, 2010 10:47 am

    This is STUNNING, Sally!! I love it. The vibrant colour of the flowers is amazing, and I love how you’ve contrasted the brightness with a piece of vellum. The little bee is the perfect touch. Beautiful, beautiful card.

  4. June 9, 2010 11:00 am

    Just stunning, love how you colered the crochet flowers.

  5. June 9, 2010 12:39 pm

    WOW! I totally LOVE this card. The vellum stamped with the sentiment over the vine/floral image is wonderful 🙂

  6. June 9, 2010 9:38 pm

    Hi Sally,

    what a beautiful result for all that hard work. Love all your layers and the dyed flowers are a stunning touch!

    Kim

  7. June 9, 2010 10:58 pm

    Yup! I knew this one was a stunner as soon as I saw the thumbnail! I love everything about it! It’s one of those creations that looks totally effortless, even though you’ve put a lot of work into it! Amazing!

    Lee x

  8. June 10, 2010 12:04 am

    Sally, your card is beautiful – love the crochet flowers of course, they look wonderful red. Well done.

  9. June 10, 2010 10:44 am

    Wow … love your card Sally, those crochet flowers are absolutely beautiful …. and certainly make a wow statement … love it!!!

  10. Rachel Jackson permalink
    June 11, 2010 7:30 am

    Beautiful Sally, I love the flowers.

  11. kirstyscardnscrap permalink
    June 11, 2010 11:49 am

    WOWSERS girlfriend. I now I already saw a sneak peek of this card,…….but oh my! This picture is so much better! I love it Sal! Well done. Now I will just have to visit so that I can see it up close! Unless you give it away before I get there! LOL!
    Kirsty xx

  12. June 11, 2010 3:31 pm

    ooohhh I know why you love it Sally! It is absolutely Stunning! Thanks so much for playing! Love Keesh x

    • June 12, 2010 2:28 pm

      Hi Keesh,
      I just want to thank you so much for choosing my card for this last colour challenge, I couldn’t believe it when Kirsty rang me and told me, at that stage I hadn’t seen that I had won, cos I thought it wasn’t being announced until the 28th so I hadn’t looked!! I was soooo excited. I have had a great week this week cos I was the lucky winner over at Kellie Winnell’s blog and won a gorgeous bundle of stamps too!
      Thank you again Keesh, I feel so honoured. Enjoy your big holiday! Not long now…
      God bless,
      Sally xo

  13. June 11, 2010 11:51 pm

    Absolutely STUNNING card…. and such a WORTHY winner. Can’t wait to see what you create next week as Guest DT Member… ooohhh..HOW EXCITING!!!!

    xx Sarah

Leave a Reply

