Skip to content

WOW!! look at me…guest designer for Makeesha’s Inkspiration Colour Challenge #28…

June 19, 2010

Hi everyone,

WOW!!! Well what a fabulous end to a very busy week for me. I feel so honoured to be posting this card as the guest designer for Makeesha’s Inkspiration Colour Challenge #28 this week. I completely admire Keesh and her design team for inspiring us week after week for their dedication in creating something very special to share with us. With life’s business it cannot be easy making these deadlines every week but these very talented ladies do just that for us, they are amazing in my book! So a huge thank you to each one of  you, I appreciate your explosion of creativity that your inspirations bring weekly. I had a busy busy week this week with my granddaughters and I very nearly ran out of time, but here is my card, hope you like it. So this week’s challenge is a colour one, and the yummy, rich colours are…..

~~~ Pumpkin Pie, Elegant Eggplant, Chocolate Chip and Whisper White ~~~

The ‘putting together’ of my card was pretty easy once I had all the bits and pieces done. I am really loving the Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder at the moment and find I reach for it quite regularly when I think something needs some texture!! Sandwiched between the Elegant Eggplant and the embossed dotty Pumpkin Pie petals and flower centre, I have used the Scallop Oval punch and the largest flower on the Boho punch, to give some interest using Stampin’ Dimensionals to separate the layers. When you first look at the flower you are drawn into it a little more because it’s not just the one layer of petals, but three, and each layer is different. I chose to use the Bird Punch for the leaves, lol, that’s probably something that only I would do, but (there is always a but isn’t there?) it was close at hand and met my needs in a moment of laziness!!!! hehe!!! Seriously though, there are lots of ways to use some products if you don’t label them specifically for only the one use. I inked one of the ‘friend’ words from the {friend to friend} sentiment with a Stampin’ Up Chocolate Chip marker and punched it out with the 1.3cm circle punch and placed it in a Build-A-Brad (These little gems are perfect for those times when you just don’t seem to have the right embellishment for your project). I love the finish the Chocolate Chip ribbon gives to my card, it’s been gathered similarly to the way you do when you want a pleated effect. I cut a measured length of Chocolate Chip cardstock, but the colour doesn’t really matter because it’s not seen, ran some Sticky Strip down one side of it, cut a longer more generous length of the ribbon and then I just worked the ribbon to make uneven intervals forming crooked loops that stand up, both ends are folded underneath the strip of card stock for neatness. So there you have it, a cheery card for a precious friend.

Pop on over and check out the beautiful work of Keesh and her Designer Team by clicking here Makeesha’s Inkspiration Colour Challenge #28, as usual their work is truly amazing!

I have only used Stampin’ Up products for this card, and they are listed below.

Cardstock: Elegant Eggplant, Pumpkin Pie, Chocolate Chip and Whisper White

Inks: Elegant Eggplant, Pumpkin Pie, Chocolate Chip

Stampin’ Write Markers: Chocolate Chip

Ribbon: Chocolate Chip 1.6cm Grosgrain

Stamps: Good Friend

               Teeny Tiny Sentiments ( {friend to friend} 0nly inked one of the ‘friend’ words)

Brad: Build-A-Brad (stamped ‘friend’ brad)

Punches: wide oval, large oval, scallop oval, 2.5 circle, 1.9 cm circle, 1.3 cm circle,

                boho blossom (i used the larger one), Extra-Large Two-Step Bird (for the leaves)

Embossing: Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder

Big Shot Die Cutting Machine

Sticky Strip adhesive and Stampin’ Dimensionals

Thanks again Keesh for selecting my card and giving me this opportunity to be your Guest Designer. Many, many thanks to every one of you out there for dropping by my site from time to time and leaving some ‘comment love’ and encouragement, it makes my heart smile.

love Sally xx

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2010 12:13 am

    Gorgouse, I love the texture on the petals, great idea.

  2. June 20, 2010 2:18 pm

    Hi Sally,
    saw this on Friday and thought you did a fabulous job with the colours. Love all the texture on the card and how you used the good friend stamp to create you background. Great stuff!

    Kim

  3. Leanne Coghlan permalink
    June 21, 2010 3:54 pm

    Lovely card Sally, it is a beauty! Congratulations on being picked for Guest Designer but it was only a matter of time, with all the lovely cards you make.

    Congratulations!

  4. June 23, 2010 2:18 pm

    Hi Sally – wow such a beautiful card – the flower really makes an impact with the embossed paper. Wonderful work with the colours and so glad you could join us as guest designer. x

  5. June 25, 2010 8:26 am

    Hello Sally! This is just WONDERFUL! The ribbon caught my eye immediately … so clever! Congrats on being a guest designer for Keesh! It was fun playing along … after so many weeks of trying to find the time! Hugs Andrea xx PS Thanks for visiting my blog. I always love to meet new blog friends! xx

Leave a Reply

